nube; how2: access/use brain atlas

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      DanM
      Participant

Hello, I just downloaded BrainSuite to use the included brain atlas; I’m not a medical professional, just thought to try to use BrainSuite to aide in trying to learn brain anatomy, and I don’t see how to access & use the atlas. Can anyone help?
      I see the page, ‘using Atlases with other softwares’, and see that there are two atlases present in the svregmanifest.xml file, and that they are supposed to appear in the SVReg dialog box, but I don’t see how that will let me view either of the atlas.
      What do I do to see the atlas?
      thank you in advance.
      Dan

sychoi
      Participant

Hi Dan, our atlases will be found with your installation files. for example

for windows:
      C:\Program Files\BrainSuite18a\svreg

for mac
      /Applications/BrainSuite18a/svreg

you will see a directory for the BCI-DNI_brain atlas and BrainSuiteAtlas1. I recommend the BCI-DNI_brain atlas.

drag and drop files ending in:
      .bfc.nii.gz (or BCI-DNI_brain.nii.gz for inclusion of skull and scalp)
      .left.mid.cortex.dfs
      .right.mid.cortex.dfs
      .all.dfc (right and left will only load one at a time)
      and under File–>open–>label volume
      select the “BCI-DNI_brain.label.nii.gz” file

To give you a few tips:
      you can learn about navigation controls here: http://brainsuite.org/interface/
      you can click anywhere on the volume slices or double click anywhere on the surface and the name of the region will appear on the bottom of the interface. There’s also some fun things you can do for visualization by opening up the mask toolbox.
      You can see the names and description of the sulcal curves (.dfc files) by opening up the sulcal toolbox

click around, experiment and have fun. Let us know if you have any other questions.

DanM
      Participant