Connectivity

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      iidaka
      Participant

Hi, experts.

I am new to BrainSuite, but so far, the procesing has been completed successfully.
      My question is how I can extract connectivity values between the ROIs in BDP.

Best regards,

Tetsuya

minqicho
      Participant

Hi Tetsuya

It depends on what kind of connectivity value you are looking for. If you want to simply extract the number of tracts connecting two ROIs, you can do it in BrainSuite. There is a button under Menu–>File–>Save Connectivity Matrix can do it.
      You want any further metric of the tracts (eg. Mean/Median of FA/MD), you need to use TractConnect tool (http://neuroimage.usc.edu/neuro/Resources/TractConnect)

Let me know if you have any further questions.

iidaka
      Participant

Hi, experts.

Thank you for response.
      I installed TRACTCONNECT module and tried to extract MD value from fibers.
      To do so, I computed the tract and (File -> Save Fiber Tracks -> Save All Fiber Tracks)
      saved it as fibers.dft.

Which of all or filtered tarcks should be saved?

Then on the command line, I entered
      tractconnect (‘fibers.dft’, ‘–label’, ‘name.svreg.label.nii.gz’, ‘–allROI’, ‘–data’, ‘name.dwi.RAS.correct.MD.T1_coord.nii.gz’, ‘–desc’, ‘brainsuite_labeldescription.xml’, ‘–pvc’, ‘name.pvc.frac.nii.gz’);

Is this corerct?
      Particularly, are RAS and reoriented… same meaning?

Then memory error occurred but it was fixed.

The computation lasted 9 hours!! and following message appeared.
      Does message “Exception….” indicate error?

Load tract file successfully
      Load arguments succesfully
      Calculating connectivity
      Calculation done and saved succesfully
      Time is 118846.479214 sec
      Exception in thread “Timer-36505” java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: GC overhead limit exceeded
      at com.mathworks.mlwidgets.explorer.model.FileDecorationModel.<init>(FileDecorationModel.java:59)